Hard Work Is Hard

You know when you think you’ve put all the effort you can into something, but then you realize it still needs a ton of work? Yeah. That’s where I am.

I’ve reached that point in rewriting my story where everything in the original version gets all tangled. I dearly love so many of these scenes, and so many of them are getting cut. Not only that, but my gut is telling me that the story needs more movement. That means an even bigger rewrite that I’d hoped or intended. It means thinking,  and I’ve already spent so much brainpower on this story. How do I build a sturdy bridge from point A to point B while maintaining the overall plot and strong character motivations? Where should they go? Should I introduce more characters? Would it be less effort to build a time machine to go into the future and see if this is even worth it?!

I want so badly to be done. I have an insane, murderous urge to push the darn story out of the nest to see if it flies or splats. At the same time, what’s the point in sending something into the world if it’s not your best? (Contrary to my mother’s opinion and what some of you are thinking, I’m not a perfectionist who will never send anything out. It will happen. It will happen soon. But it can’t happen yet.)

All in all, however, I have to grudgingly say that I’m finally learning to have work ethic and patience. My dad will be so proud. Maybe writing fantasy novels builds character.

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hard Work Is Hard

  1. Amanda says:

    Good for you, I’m sure this is not easy 🙂 but I know you can do it!!!!!!

  2. Alli O says:

    You rock. That’s all.

  3. Jewels says:

    I’m in pretty much the same place. I completely understand the desire to just BE DONE. But, I know for my book, the changes have improved it so much. I can’t imagine yours getting better (because it’s already so great) but, man, how awesome will it be when it is finished?

  4. Kimberly says:

    Oh my goodness, I so get this! Man, if you’d read the first version of my book, you would be floored by how much has changed. And if you could see inside my head right now, you’d be floored by how many more changes I still have planned. It’s such an evolutionary process, isn’t it? And man, the WORK. I had no idea when I first committed to writing just how involved it is.

    Never forget this very important lesson though: Kim is lazy. She only reads stories she loves. She only gives compliments if she really, REALLY means them.

    You have the talent, you amaze me with every chapter. Now for the hard part . . . developing that talent! =)

What do you think?

