Senioritis

This is still a thing, right? Senioritis? It’s been more than a decade since I graduated high school now, so I guess I’m officially behind on what is awesome (swag?).

I remember the feeling of senior year. You know what I mean. You’re thisclose to being done. Finished. No more. Ready. Moving on. THISCLOSE! A new chapter of your life is opening, and you are ready. So ready! It might suck, but it might be awesome (beast!)! It’s  something new; something that proves you are, in fact, moving forward. I am so there.

My story is almost ready. Soon I’ll send it out into the world to see if it can become a full-grown novel. So soon! Except I have a problem. I’m so close that I feel like I should already be done. I look at my notes and say, “Yeah, I know I need to rewrite that part,” and I feel like knowing is enough. I tell people, “Sure, you can be a beta reader! My book should be ready…” and then I realize at my current pace it will never be ready, because in my head it has arrived. I’m just so busy mooning over it that I forget I need to actually change the words on the page so that readers can see what I see.

I suppose blogging is also a sign of my senioritis. I’m doing this because I know I should be writing but am having a really hard time making myself do it. Does anyone else have this problem?

Well, I guess I’ve procrastinated enough today. Time to get to it (YOLO)!

Also, I can’t believe it’s been close to two months since I’ve posted! I mean to do it once a week, Maybe now that fall is here with school and schedules it will be easier.

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Senioritis

  1. Julie says:

    Well, I thought it was ready when I first read it, so…. Send away, baby!!

  2. Ellen says:

    I want to be a beta reader!

What do you think?

