Pitch Wars and Other Things

Guys, this month has been crazy.

20131226-160053.jpg

As crazy as these three.

First of all, Utah spent a few weeks looking like this:

20131226-160111.jpg

Oh the weather outside is frightful, but that’s okay because I’m an indoor person anyway.

Second, a few weeks ago I got my first partial request from an agent!! Yes, I might have screeched and cried and had to sit down. Also, because of said crying, I may or may not have given my husband a heart attack when I called to tell him.

Third, as you may have guessed from my previous post, I entered Pitch Wars! What a few of you may not know is that I got a mentor! Though I wasn’t the first choice of the mentors I applied to (though apparently I was the first alternate for one), I got scooped up by one of the secret ninja mentors, Rae Chang (follow her on Twitter, she rocks)! Bonus: Rae lives in the same town as I do! So we get to hang out and do edits in person! It’s great. I love her. She can read my mind AND she’s willing to spend hours working with me on pretty much a daily basis AND she takes me out for pho! So… yeah. #TeamHTBM (Here There Be Monsters) FTW! (Also, speaking of hashtags and Twitter, I’d love to know if any of you guys are on there! You can follow me @CHMcFarland.) The agent round of Pitch Wars takes place January 22-23, so I’m hoping to post a few more times about it before then.

Fourth, I got my first FULL request from a different agent than the one who requested my partial (there might have been more screaming)! At my mentor’s advice, I emailed her and told her that I’d gotten a mentor in Pitch Wars. She (the agent) said she wouldn’t have read my manuscript until January anyway, so I’m going to send her the newer (shinier, better) version when it’s finished. YAY!

So this year the normal December things have been kind of stuffed in around a whole lot of writing. My daughter had her first-ever school Christmas concert, which was super cute even if she did spend one entire song turned around watching the kids behind her. We spent Christmas in Utah with my husband’s family. It seemed to come and go faster without the customary road trip (even when I was a kid, we drove from Ohio to Illinois every year) and I definitely missed seeing my family, but it was actually really relaxing and a lot of fun! My favorite gift: I got to register for a writing conference! And these gloves from my mother-in-law came in at a close second (they’re from this Etsy shop):

I LOVE THEM!

I LOVE THEM!

So, all in all, this month has been intensely awesome. I usually do a New Year’s post, so you should hear from me sooner than usual. I hope you had a happy 2013!

 

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Path to Publication and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

