The New Year’s Post (2014 edition)

Remember last year at this time, when everyone was all, “Lolz! Looks like the Mayans were wrong!” Oh, internet.

Speaking of the internet:

Brace yourselves  2014 is coming

I ❤ memes!

So, New Year’s resolutions. I used to think I needed this big, long list of things about myself to change. However, I’m not that good at life, so two years ago I settled on making three goals/resolutions I am actually capable of achieving within the calendar year.

For 2013 I’m only giving myself 1.5/3. I definitely fulfilled my first goal (begin submitting a novel manuscript to agents), got about half the points in my second one (finish and polish my two WIPs and write a complete first draft of something new), and bombed the third (which, of course, was lose weight). I’m giving myself a little slack on point #2, however, because A) I grossly underestimated how much work goes into a novel after the first draft, and B) I tore apart one of my WIPs and wrote so much new material for it that it basically counts as a new novel. I also won NaNoWriMo, but that novel isn’t complete and every single one of those words is more or less useless. However, those two things combined make it close. Perhaps I give myself 1.75/3.

Let’s see if I can do better in 2014! (I just realized that 2014 will be the last calendar year I live entirely in my 20’s. That’s weird.)

1. Write a new first draft and polish the one I finished last year.

2. I’m nervous to say this because it’s not entirely in my control, but I want to find an agent this year (fingers crossed).

querycon

But I am the special-est snowflake!

3. Instead of saying ‘I want to lose weight’ I’m going to say, ‘I want to transition to a healthier lifestyle.’ Specifically, I’d like to exercise multiple times per week and eat less fast food.

memes delicious foods y u no healthy

4 rlz.

So, that’s me. What about you guys? Care to share goals you’re setting or have achieved?

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The New Year’s Post (2014 edition)

  1. Julie says:

    I hate resolutions. I never keep them, usually just forget about them around February 7th. (That’s a very specific day, I know.) So, I’m just planning to make goals as I go. Maybe I’ll do better at that.

  2. I want to get this baby out of my body first of all and be an awesome mom, get back into shape/stop going to Wendy’s so much at work and start maintaining a more orderly household. That last picture is the story of my life!

  3. Those sound like good goals. I never keep any of my resolutions, either, so this year I just decided to keep it super simple and try and write every day. So far so good. 😉

    Good luck in Pitch Wars!

  4. Pingback: New Year’s Post 2015 | Caitlyn H. McFarland

What do you think?

