Sewing Binge

Guys, my sewing room was filled with piles of unfolded clothes for almost a year. I am not kidding (in my defense, I did get a ton of writing done). I finally cleaned it and went on a sewing binge. Yay!

20140522-202329-73409464.jpg

First I made myself a laptop/messenger bag. I’ve wanted one for a while, but all the cute ones were too expensive. So I made this! Bonus: now I have a place for my button collection, which I plan to grow.

20140522-202327-73407429.jpg

My middle daughter’s birthday came up at about the same time I started making my bag. We weren’t able to get her quite as many gifts as I’d wanted, but she noticed this sparkly fabric sitting in my closet and loved it. Luckily it was the perfect size to make into a quick skirt. Yay, birthday princess!

20140522-202330-73410840.jpg

Of course, once I’d made myself a bag I suddenly needed to make one for each of my girls (husband denies these bags were a need, but he doesn’t know). I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out. They’ll be perfect for the weekends with grandparents and road trips.

When I went shopping for fabric to make the girls’ bags, I came across an amazing fox print and fell in love. It was 50% off, which was obviously a sign. I had been wanting to make my oldest a dress with an asymmetrical hem for a while, so I combined a button-up shirt pattern with an off-center circle skirt.

I have to say, I love how it turned out.

20140522-202331-73411285.jpg

It looks cuter with a pink belt, but we couldn’t find it.

20140522-202333-73413066.jpg

Yay for sewing! Now that this is mostly out of my system, it’s back to writing for me!

 

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in I Made That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

