#CritsfromCait: In Which I Steal an Idea from My Former Mentor

With her permission, of course.

Hello, PitchWars friends!

You may not know me. I didn’t ask to be a mentor this year because I’m kind of crunched for time, but I was in Pitch Wars last year, and Rae was my mentor. I’m sad I can’t be an official part of the contest, so I decided to offer some crits. And since Rae is my former mentor/current CP, I’m going to sort of continue #CritsfromRae. Except this is #CritsfromCait.

*trumpet fanfare*

So, I am not Rae. My critique style is different. Our opinions are different. But I promise I’m qualified. I’m represented by the fabulous literary agent Marlene Stringer and recently signed a three-book deal for my fantasy/romance series, SWORN, which is set to be released sometime next year (see my announcement post here).

The Rules

(taken directly from Rae’s blog with a few tweaks)

1- You don’t have to follow my blog or me on Twitter. (Would I like it? Yes. Will I check? No.) This is open to anyone with a completed manuscript who wants to enter Pitch Wars, regardless of category or genre. Note from Caitlyn: You SHOULD follow Rae if you haven’t yet. She tweets and blogs smart things.

2- Post why you deserve a Pitch Wars critique on the hashtag #CritsfromCait between noon EST and midnight EST every day August 11-13. That means you have THREE chances to win!

3- I will pick three people to receive a free Query + 1st 250 words critique from me.

4- The winners will be posted here on the blog.

5- I will send the winners instructions on what to do next. ALL critiques will be completed before Pitch Wars starts. Cross my heart.

The Disclaimers

(READ THESE BEFORE YOU ENTER!)

(also taken from Rae’s blog)

1- I’m biased. I’m a human being. If I write something on your pitch/ms/submission, it is an observation/opinion from my perspective. It is not some universal truth that must be obeyed. Take my suggestions — and ANY suggestions you get — with a grain of salt. I do not know you. I do not know your story. I am a fresh set of eyes.

2- I am not conspiring with anyone to steer you wrong, but I am not a genie that can instantly get you an agent. Manage your expectations, please.

3- I will not share your critique with anyone.

4- I’m not out to hurt anyone’s feelings, but I’m not going to beat around the bush. I’ve had to take my share of criticism, and I will have to take much more in the future. We all will. We deal with it. We go on. Please don’t fly into a rage and flame me or anyone I care about. (This goes for ANY criticism you receive from ANYONE. Even if you hate the advice, you say “thank you for your time” and move on.)

5- Querying is serious business, yes, but don’t let it drive you to do anything you will regret.

I look forward to helping you with your queries!

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #CritsfromCait: In Which I Steal an Idea from My Former Mentor

  1. aightball says:

    Do we post only one time each day? Just clarifying so I don’t goof and post more than is allowed =)

  2. Once each day should be fine. I don’t mind if you tweet a few times because you have a couple of great ideas, but probably not more than that. Good luck! 🙂

What do you think?

