Blog Tour and Giveaway! The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Guys! One of the best things about being an author is having author friends who write amazing books! Case in point: my agency sister, Charlie N. Holmberg and her debut novel, The Paper Magician.

Paper Magician RD 3 fullsize

Ceony Twill arrives at the cottage of Magician Emery Thane with a broken heart. Having graduated at the top of her class from the Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, Ceony is assigned an apprenticeship in paper magic despite her dreams of bespelling metal. And once she’s bonded to paper, that will be her only magic…forever.

Yet the spells Ceony learns under the strange yet kind Thane turn out to be more marvelous than she could have ever imagined—animating paper creatures, bringing stories to life via ghostly images, even reading fortunes. But as she discovers these wonders, Ceony also learns of the extraordinary dangers of forbidden magic.

An Excisioner—a practitioner of dark, flesh magic—invades the cottage and rips Thane’s heart from his chest. To save her teacher’s life, Ceony must face the evil magician and embark on an unbelievable adventure that will take her into the chambers of Thane’s still-beating heart—and reveal the very soul of the man.

I ordered this book as soon as it was available on Kindle, and let me tell you, it is awesome! Sometimes I have moments of insane WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT?! jealousy, and I totally had one when I read The Paper Magician, because the magic is so extremely awesome and unique (on top of having engaging characters and a great plot. For real, Charlie, you’re making the rest of us look bad).

Basically, the magic works like this: upon graduation from Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, magicians may bond with metal alloys, rubber, paper, fire, glass, plastic, or the forbidden magic: human flesh. Just reread the description of paper magic above to see how awesomely creative Charlie has been.

Obviously everyone loves free things, and so to celebrate the release of The Paper Magician and the beginning of Charlie’s awesome career as an author (trust me, she’s good, I’ve read some of her other work) I’m giving away a SIGNED paperback copy of The Paper Magician! Woo hoo! I’ve never done a giveaway before, so please help me make it awesome by entering.

To enter, just tell me which material you’d want to bond to in the comments. If you want to enter more than once, share this post on social media and comment again with a link to where you’ve shared. You have until Friday, September 26th at 2pm Mountain Time to enter (that’s 4pm for you people on Eastern). I’ll use a random number generator to choose the winner, so make sure you check back Friday evening! Good luck!

OH! And if all this sounds exciting, you can also preorder the second book in Charlie’s series, The Glass Magician, available November 4th from 47North.

———-

Displaying CharliePic1.1.jpg

Homegrown in Salt Lake City, Charlie was raised a Trekkie with three sisters who also have boy names. She writes fantasy novels and does freelance editing on the side. She’s a proud BYU alumna, plays the ukulele, and owns too many pairs of glasses.

Website – Twitter – Goodreads –  Amazon

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Blog Tour and Giveaway! The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

  1. Leah says:

    Ooh, pick me!! Aside from the obvious allure of human flesh and fire, I would bond with glass. How fun would that be? All the windows of my house would be SO awesome. And if anyone dropped their smart phone…..

  2. kymburlee says:

    I would bond with metal, assuming I lived in a world where it was plentiful like our world is. If not, then definitely glass. 🙂

  3. kymburlee says:

    Because I am DYING to read this book and already spent my monthly book budget, I have retweeted the post here: https://twitter.com/Kymburleev

  4. Lisa says:

    Pretty sure mine would be fire. You are inspiring. I have always wanted to write but never seem to find the time. I guess if you can anyone can they just have to make it a priority. Congratts! Excited to continue hearing about your adventures.
    P.S. Always looking for a good book.

  5. Lisa says:

    Shared your post of facebook!

  6. Glass! Sounds like an awesome book. I’m a fan of magic and a good plot! Thanks for sharing with us! … Also, comment has been posted: https://twitter.com/YodelingDragon Yay!

  7. dbstevens says:

    Human flesh, obviously. If it’s forbidden, I’m there.

  8. dbstevens says:

    Also, shared your link on FB because this book really does look that good.

  9. Katy says:

    I would bond with glass. I think that would be amazing! I have always had a thing for beautiful glass. 🙂

  10. Katy says:

    I also shared the link on Facebook!

  11. Sleepy Joe says:

    Why is no one picking paper here?!? I mean I know I work in a library and how cool would it be to bring all those stories to life and not to mention what you could do with musty old books, the basement and kids!!!! (wow I have a wicked side)

  12. Sleepy Joe says:

    Also shared on FB and twitter….not that I’m trying to win here or anything 😉

  13. warrchick says:

    I’d definitely bond with fire–pyros ftw! lol Paper does sound cool, though, as does this book! I’ll keep my fingers crossed, and set my mental alarm clock to Friday evening!

  14. Alyssa says:

    Glass would be fun to work with.

  15. TCDalton says:

    I think that I would definitely bond with Glass. Water might be my first choice and I think that glass would be the closest to that. I think it would be super cool. Not to discount the others, but ya know, preferences as it is…

  16. Sam says:

    I feel weird saying this, but I’d bond with the four elements or water because I got inspired by Avatar, it’s my childhood and I’ve always dreamed of being a water bender or be an avatar so yeah, any of the four elements 🙂 thanks for the giveaway I’m winning this for my sister because they won’t sell it here

  17. Ariell says:

    That’s a tough one. I think maybe water. But, I like the ideas from the book, too. I can’t wait to read it. It sounds very creative.

  18. Sleepy Joe says:

    So apparently I read this wrong and it isn’t the actual posting on Facebook or twitter that counts its the telling you on here. But just to be sure I tweeted again 😉 (there two comments one for Facebook, one for twitter I had better with this book)

  19. Llehn says:

    I’ll bond with wood.

  20. Amy says:

    I would bond with paper. Then everyone could see the imaginatorium inside my head I see every time I read.

  21. I would bond with Plastic! That Would be so cool!

  22. julesdem says:

    As a writer, I’m going to have to go with paper.

What do you think?

