Journaling

I always think I need some clever topic if I’m going to blog, but I’m spending so much energy on writing novel-length things right now that I don’t have much cleverness left for blogging. So I was thinking, instead of trying to be clever, I’m going to post more journal-like things. Partially for me, but also because, while there are a ton of blogs about querying and craft, I could never find blogs about what came after.

That’s what I’m documenting here. What comes after you get an agent and a publishing contract and all that. I think a lot of people who are just starting out see agents as an end-goal. But they aren’t. Getting an agent (or your first unagented contract) is sort of like the catalyst, if you will. The thing that moves everything else forward. The bulk of your story as a professional writer comes after.

So, my beginning: I was a late bloomer. Up until 2008, I had been an avid reader who dabbled in writing, but thought novel-writing was too big to tackle. Then, the same year I graduated college (at 24, I was late with that, too, but also already married with a one-year-old) I decided that I was going to write novels.

So I did.

Skipping ahead, I wrote pretty dang sporadically from 2008-2012, though I did complete the first draft of my upcoming debut, Soul of Smoke. Then I joined a writing group, and in late 2012/early 2013 I buckled down and started producing a volume of work. In March of 2014, I signed with my agent. In June 2014, I signed a three-book deal with Carina Press.

I’ve posted about this before, but to sum up: the book they bought (Soul of Smoke, previously titled Sworn) was intended to be the first in a trilogy. They wanted the trilogy, but they’re a new-ish publisher, and they do daring things. They wanted to release the books in my trilogy every other month, so before the first could come out, I had to write the other two. If I wanted the books to come out in 2015, I had to write them both in a year. I agreed.

Now you’re more or less caught up. I used to think that you had to “know” you were a writer from a young age to be an author. Turns out you don’t.

Anyway, I’ve gone off on a tangent. But oh, well. I have to get back to work. Right now I’m editing SoS** and drafting book three of the trilogy. I finished book two back in December. Yeah. I have three kids now and my husband was working 10-14 hour days. Meeting THAT deadline was a superfun adventure, which I will recount at a later date.

Oh! And before I go, cool news! I’m going to be on a panel at LTUE in a couple of weeks! If you’re there, stop by and say hello!

And here’s something new! I’m pretty focused on Dragonsworn right now, so why not dragons? Here’s your dragon picture of the day. This one is by the same person who did the banner for this blog. I absolutely love her work. Please check out her deviantart gallery and her Facebook fan page.

the_sky_serpent_by_rachopin77-d7m1x9a

The Sky Serpent by rachopin77

 

**Soul of Smoke. I didn’t find this out until I was far-ish into the publishing process, but apparently this is how all the cool writers abbreviate book titles.

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Just Life, Path to Publication, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

