Staying Sane

My deadline is upon me, guys. I don’t have a ton of time.  But in my last post I talked about deadlines and how writing becomes work once you decide that… um… you want it to be work. Inevitably, I get to that point every day where my brain gets too mushy to be able to think for one more second about how my characters are going to solve their problems. When that happens, I have to step away from the computer and do whatever I can to stay sane.

For me, this usually involves something completely non-verbal. This week, in nooks and crannies of time, I’ve been copying this:

IMG_3620

It’s an awesome crafty name thing my sister-in-law made for my oldest daughter five-ish years ago.  But since then, I’ve had two more daughters. So of course they need these, too! Here are some samples of the blocks-in-progress (the ones with letters need touching up, my homemade stencils weren’t that great).

IMG_3621

As you can see, my crafting/writing spaces are combined. Our place is small.

I’ve also started trying to work out a few times per week. Just a relaxed, yoga sort of workout, but it’s kind of amazing how it makes a difference. Maybe this will be the year I’ll actually make a positive change, health-wise. That would be cool.

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

