It’s Been Awhile

Hey guys.

A few new things have happened since, you know, December. Mostly I’ve just been hanging out, parenting, and writing. I did start this thing where I assign myself a specific room of my house to clean for each day of the week. For the first time in my life, I don’t have to block the sight of my living room from people who show up at my front door unexpectedly. So that’s nice.

If you missed it, I also hung my shingle as a developmental editor/writing teacher/consultant. I have ambitions to make a career out of it (or half a career, since I do love writing my own books), and I’ve heard I’m pretty good, so if you’re interested, check it out here.

In other news, I attended the LDStorymakers writing conference this weekend. YAY! It is without a doubt my absolute favorite weekend of the year. This was the first time I’ve gone as a published author, and some awesome things happened. First, I got to teach. Second, I got to hang out for writers with three days straight and see friends I only get to see once a year at this conference. Third, I got to meet my amazing agent, Marlene Stringer, for the first time ever! And I got to meet more of the talented authors she represents! It was really fun.

Also, Truth of Embers was a finalist in the Adult Spec Fic category of the Whitney Awards! The coolest thing about that was that I was competing directly against authors like Brandon Sanderson and Dan Wells. I ultimately lost to Dan Wells (I’d shake my fist at him, but I’d rather stay on his good side), but just being in the mix was an honor and I’m grateful.

On Friday, I taught a class called, “Steam and Simmer: Writing Sexual Tension without Crossing the Line.” The topic was so popular and the room so small that they asked me to teach it again on Saturday. But the only time they had an open room just happened to be the same time Brandon Sanderson was teaching his plotting class. By virtue of the fact that he’s a genius, Brandon Sanderson happens to be a much stronger draw than I am. So I’m guessing several people who missed my class the first day missed it again because they were there (or unconscious in a corner somewhere, as it was the last hour of the conference and most of us were running on fumes).

People were asking for notes from the class, but I thought it might be better for me to convert my power point into something a little more coherent (considering they would not also be able to download me to explain it) and post it here.

Since I’m not looking to make this The Longest Blog Post Ever, I thought I’d split the class into a mini-series of posts relating to the topics I covered in class. So, for the next few days, that’s what I’m going to focus on.

I hope you enjoy!

 

 

About Caitlyn McFarland

Mom of three girls, writer of fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

